Statement calling on Houthi authorities to repeal the death sentence against a Yemeni Bahá'í in Sana'a and to release all Yemeni Bahá'í prisoners

27 February 2018

On 2 January 2018, the Specialized Criminal Court in Sana'a, Yemen, sentenced a member of the Bahá'í community, Mr Hamed bin Haydara, to be executed due to his religious beliefs. The judge furthermore ordered the dissolution of all Bahá'í Assemblies, thereby placing other Bahá'í prisoners as well as the Bahá'í community as a whole in imminent danger. Mr Haydara was arbitrarily arrested at his workplace on 3 December 2013 and has since served a 4-year sentence, during which he has been subjected to extensive torture, been denied treatment for consequent medical conditions, and forced to sign papers while blindfolded. His execution, the date of which is unknown, is to be carried out in public.

We call on the Houthi authorities in Yemen to repeal Mr Haydara's court sentence and release all Bahá'í prisoners.

The 103 co-signatories endorsing the statement include Members of the European Parliament (MEP) and Members of Parliaments across Europe.

•		
Trifone ALTIERI, MP Italy	Ricardo SIXTO IGLESIAS, MP Spain	Anders ÖSTERBERG, MP Sweden
Maria ARENA, MEP	Kattrin JADIN, MP Belgium	Maureen O'SULLIVAN, MP Ireland
Ignacio SÁNCHEZ AMOR, MP Spain	Dennis de JONG, MEP	Alessandro PAGANO, MP Italy
Senator Ivana BACIK, Ireland	The Lord JUDD, UK	Bertrand PANCHER, MP France
Fernando MAURA BARANDIARÁN, MP Spain	Senator Andrzej KAMIŃSKI, Poland	Pier Antonio PANZERI, MEP
José María CHIQUILLO BARBER, MP Spain	Sadet KARABULUT, MP Netherlands	Martin PATZELT, MP Germany
Richard Boyd BARRETT, MP Ireland	Ward KENNES, MP Belgium	Jan PEUMANS, MP Belgium
Gina BARSTAD, MP Norway	Gino KENNY, MP Ireland	Lilianne PLOUMEN, MP Netherlands
Beatriz BECERRA BASTERRECHEA, MEP	Wajid KHAN, MEP	Soraya POST, MEP
Petra BAYR, MP Austria	Christian KOVACEVIC, MP Austria	Senator Annick De RIDDER, Belgium
Geir Jørgen BEKKEVOLD, MP Norway	Philip KUCHER, MP Austria	Monika ROSA, MP Poland
Ivo BELET, MEP	Gudrun KUGLER, MP Austria	Alois ROSENBERGER, MP Austria
Senator Sabine de BETHUNE, Belgium	Andreas KÜHBERGER, MP Austria	Birgit-Silvia SANDLER, MP Austria
Senator Frances BLACK, Ireland	Stephanie KRISPER, MP Austria	Milena SANTERINI, MP Italy
Bob BLACKMAN, MP UK	Irene HOCHSTETTER-LACKNER, MP Austria	Nikolaus SCHERAK, MP Austria
Senator Przemysław BŁASZCZYK, Poland	Meritxell BATET LAMAÑA, MP Spain	Andreas SCHIEDER, MP Austria
Torhild BRANDSDAL, MP Norway	Senator Karl-Heinz LAMBERTZ, Belgium	Jim SHANNON, MP UK
Kathleen VAN BREMPT, MEP	Jörg LEICHTFRIED, MP Austria	Brid SMITH, MP Ireland
Jean-Jacques BRIDEY, MP France	Barbara LOCHBIHLER, MEP	Bart STAES, MEP
Annagrazia CALABRIA, MP Italy	Reinhold LOPATKA, MP Austria	Helga STEVENS, MEP
Zaida CANTERA DE CASTRO, MP Spain	Viviane LOSCHETTER, MP Luxembourg	Senator Simone SUSSKIND, Belgium
Seán CROWE, MP Ireland	Dirk Van de MAELEN, MP Belgium	Senator Petra de SUTTER, Belgium
Efgani DÖNMEZ, MP Austria	Lucio MALAN, MP Italy	Charles TANNOCK, MEP
Muna DUZDAR, MP Austria	Senator Robert MAMATOW, Poland	Harald TROCH, MP Austria
Louise ELLMAN, MP UK	Alex MAYER, MEP	Mikel LEGARDA URIARTE, MP Spain
Frank ENGEL, MEP	Finian MCGRATH, MP Ireland	Tom VANDENKENDELAERE, MEP
Elisabeth FEICHTINGER, MP Austria	Mattie MCGRATH, MP Ireland	Hilde VAUTMANS, MEP
Eugen FREUND, MEP	Louis MICHEL, MEP	Gregorio CÁMARA VILLAR, MP Spain
Laurent FURST, MP France	Alessia Maria MOSCA, MEP	Josef WEIDENHOLZER, MEP
Kamila GASIUK-PIHOWICZ, MP Poland	Javier NART, MEP	The Baroness WHITAKER, UK
Mary GLINDON, MP UK	Maria-Theresia NISS, MP Austria	Lieve WIERINCK, MEP
Ana GOMES, MEP	Senator David NORRIS, Ireland	Maria Andersson WILLNER, MP Sweden
Kerstin GRIESE, MP Germany	Darragh O'BRIEN, MP Ireland	Selma YILDIRIM, MP Austria
Marian HARKIN, MEP	Fergus O'DOWD, MP Ireland	Alma ZADIC, MP Austria

Heribert HIRTE, MP Germany